St Ives Town 2 Merthyr Town 3
30 Sep 2017, Saturday


Merthyr Town won their first league match at St Ives ground running out 3-2 winners.

Merthyr started quickly and went a goal in front on 9 minutes when Ian Traylor got to the bye line and crossed the ball back to Jaye Bowen who finished to make it 1-0 from 4 yards. Merthyr extended their lead on 14 minutes when Jaye Bowen turned provider and played the ball through to Ian Traylor who slotted the ball under James Goff to make it 2-0

They say you are at your most vulnerable when you score, and straight from kick off Phil Draycott scored from close range after some poor marking.to make it 2-1. That was how the score remained up until half time. 

In the second half Merthyr had a few half chances, until the 69th minute when a St Ives corner was cleared up to Ian Traylor on the half way lone. Traylor tried to play the ball to Stuart Fleetwood but the ball deflected to Jaye Bowen who played ball over St Ives defence. Stuart Fleetwood did well to leave the ball as he was in an offside position which Traylor collected and sprinted clear of Jordan Jarrod and once again slotted the ball under Goff to make it 3-1.

The goal looed to have made the game safe for Merthyr but a long clearance by Jordan Jarrod over Merthyr defence forced Jarrad Wight to foul Danny Kelly. Kelly's freekick was well saved by Oliver Davies.   On 80th minute a cross from left wing by Phil Draycott was headed over by an unmarked Danny Kelly from 8 yards. On 84th minute the hosts scored from another long ball over the top which James Hall ran onto and lobbed the ball over Oliver Davies to pull a goal back to make it 3-2. 

Gavin Williams side saw the game out without any danger and on 87 minutes a Kerry Morgan freekick was tipped onto cross bar by James Goff.

Merthyr had chances though the game to score more with some near misses from Traylor & Fleetwood and Cameron Pring hitting the post. The Martyrs deserved 3 points but once again the victory could have been more comfortable.

Merthyr Town XI:

Oliver Davies, Adam Davies, Cameron Pring, Ashley Evans, Jarrad Wright, Scott Tancock, Jaye Bowen (replaced by Corey Jenkins 69), Kyle Patten, Stuart Fleetwood (replaced by Kerry Morgan 80 minutes), Eliot Richards, Ian Traylor (replaced by Curtis McDonald 72 minutes).

Unused subs: Robbie Patten, Kyle Copp.


Newsletter Sign-up



View All